skip to Main Content
Takács’ Bartók I

Takács’ Bartók I

Takacs I


This event is part of Takács’ Bartók: The Complete String Quartets


BARTÓK String Quartet No. 1
BARTÓK String Quartet No. 3
BARTÓK String Quartet No. 5

Béla Bartók’s string quartet cycle is one of the most significant contributions to the genre in the last century, influencing many composers including György Ligeti and Benjamin Britten. Spanning his whole career as a composer, Bartók’s six string quartets represent his relentless endeavour to create a unique musical language that could express both his modernist and nationalist aspirations. In each string quartet, Bartók experimented with different strategies to syncretize the old with the new, the agrarian with the urban, the humorous with the ferocious, creating spectacular kaleidoscopes of competing musical forces. The progressive harmonic design of the First Quartet (1909) operates within the framework of conventional motivic development. The Prima parte and the Seconda parte of the Third Quartet (1927) present a juxtaposition of Schoenbergian chromaticism and Stravinskian primitivism. In the urgent and exciting Finale of the Fifth Quartet, Bartók plotted a grotesque scene by introducing a dissonant accompaniment to a diatonic tune.

House Programme


Edward Dusinberre, violin
Harumi Rhodes, violin
Geraldine Walther, viola
András Fejér, cello

Music in Words with the Takács

(In English)

Moderator: Prof. Chan Hing-yan, Department of Music, HKU
20 SEP 2019 | FRI | 7PM
Rehearsal Room, LG1/F, Run Run Shaw Tower, HKU



Grand Hall
Lee Shau Kee Lecture Centre
Centennial Campus
The University of Hong Kong


$250 single concert
$400 both concerts – see details of Takács’ Bartók II
  • For ages 12+
  • Tickets at URBTIX starting 14 Jun
  • HKU Discounts: Students $50 | Staff 15% off (Valid HKU student / staff card required upon purchase at URBTIX outlets and entry to venue)
  • Be a MUSE members 10% off
  • Full-time students, citizens aged 60 or above & people with disabilities 50% off
  • Discounts cannot be combined

Concert Excerpt - Bartók String Quartet No. 6, Final Movement

Photo Gallery

Takacs 12Takacs 9


  • Patrons under the age of 12 will not be admitted.
  • Approximately 80 minutes with an intermission
  • Guests are advised to arrive punctually.
  • Programmes and artists subject to change
  • Latecomers will be admitted during intermission – please plan to arrive early.

Presented by

Supported by

Back To Top