skip to Main Content

Takács’ Bartók: The Complete String Quartets


Takács’ Bartók: The Complete String Quartets

“It communicates Bartok’s all-embracing humanity, and if the greatest string quartets after Beethoven are still unknown to you, then this new set may well prove the musical journey of a lifetime.” – Gramophone

The six string quartets by Béla Bartók offer perhaps the most distilled essence of his style and life as a modernist and nationalist composer. Weaving together elements from European classical music and the exotic rusticity of Eastern European folk dance, the set is regarded as one of the most important contributions to the genre since Beethoven’s first entry a century earlier. 

Now presented altogether in two sessions by the Wigmore Hall Medal-winning Takács String Quartet with their impeccable technical mastery and musical balance, the concerts will offer some intense intellectual adrenalines with Bartók’s exotic blend of tunes!

House Programme
Back To Top