skip to Main Content
Mostly Brahms I

Mostly Brahms I




(In Cantonese 廣東話主講​)


BRAHMS Sonata in F minor, Op. 120, No. 1
BRAHMS Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 120, No. 2


The three-part ‘Mostly Brahms’ lecture-recital series opens with the composer’s final chamber work, Clarinet Sonatas Op. 120, Nos. 1 & 2. Composed in 1894, just three years before his death, the set was one of the earliest works for clarinet and piano in music history. Behind the carefully-balanced instrumental dialogues are sheer conciseness, purity, and profundity – a refined approach Brahms adopted towards the last phase of his life, pairing his masterful artistry with stylistic maturity. The set of masterpieces was later transcribed for the viola by the composer himself, casting the solo spotlight over this ‘middle-voice’ instrument. In this lecture-recital, violist Andrew Ling and pianist Nancy Loo will present these two beloved sonatas and unveil the hidden charm of the viola’s warm and rich timbre.


Andrew Ling, viola 凌顯祐 / 中提琴​
Nancy Loo, piano 羅乃新 / 鋼琴​


Grand Hall
Lee Shau Kee Lecture Centre
Centennial Campus
The University of Hong Kong


FREE via online registration

Photo Gallery

IMG06966 IMG07206


  • For ages 6+
  • Approximately 1.5 hours without intermission
  • Guests are advised to arrive punctually.
  • No latecomers will be admitted until a suitable break in the programme.
  • Programmes and artists are subject to change.

Presented by

Supported by

Back To Top