skip to Main Content
Composer Krzysztof Penderecki With Hong Kong Sinfonietta Musicians

Composer Krzysztof Penderecki with Hong Kong Sinfonietta Musicians



2015 Rayson Huang Lecture-Recital

(In English)


PENDERECKI String Quartet No. 1 (1960)
PENDERECKI Duo Concertante for Violin & Double Bass (2010)

Appointed as HKU’s 2015 Rayson Huang Fellow, Krzysztof Penderecki is one of the greatest living composers of our time. His prolific career spans more than half a century, winning numerous prestigious awards including the Prix Italia, Sibelius Gold Medal, Grammy Awards, Grawemeyer Award, as well as some of the highest decorations by countries such as his native Poland, Germany, France, Italy, and Japan.

In this lecture-recital, musicians from the Hong Kong Sinfonietta will perform two of Penderecki’s representative chamber works, and the Maestro will join Prof. Daniel Chua (HKU Music) in a dialogue to discuss his works and share his life and career as a composer.

Speaker:Krzysztof Penderecki
Moderator: Prof. Daniel Chua, Chairperson, Department of Music, HKU

James Cuddeford, violin
Kitty Cheung, violin
Kiann Chow, violin
Ringo Chan, viola
Eric Yip, cello
Masami Nagai, double bass


Grand Hall
Lee Shau Kee Lecture Centre
Centennial Campus
The University of Hong Kong


FREE via online registration

Event Highlights

Photo Gallery



  • For ages 6+
  • Approximately 1.5 hours without intermission
  • Guests are advised to arrive punctually.
  • No latecomers will be admitted until a suitable break in the programme.
  • Programmes and artists are subject to change.

Presented by

Supported by

Back To Top