skip to Main Content
A Conversation On Time And Eternity: Messiaen’s Quartet For The End Of Time

A Conversation on Time and Eternity: Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time

(8:00AM EST | 2:00PM CEST | 8:00PM HKT)

MesQuartet-Ebanner-Talk_1_800 x 470

(In Cantonese 粵語主講)

The first event of the Messiaen series will be hosted virtually by HKU Music Department’s Professor Chan Hing-yan, with guest speaker Professor Henry Shiu of Emmanuel College, a theological college in the University of Toronto. They will share their thoughts on various aspects of Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time, ranging from the composer’s unique musical language, inspiration from nature, devout Catholicism, to how his message of time and eternity resonates with us today.

港大音樂系陳慶恩教授邀得邵頌雄教授於網上對談,為梅湘《時間終結四重奏》系列打開序幕。邵教授為繆思文集《諸神的黃昏》其中一位作者,於多倫多大學之神學院伊曼紐爾學院任教。兩人將暢談各自對《時間終結四重奏》的體會,從梅湘獨特的音樂語彙、取材於大自然的創作靈感、以及其虔誠的宗教信仰,討論作品帶出有關時間和永恆的議題如何與當今世代產生共鳴。

Speakers:

Prof. Henry Shiu
Emmanuel College, University of Toronto

Prof. Chan Hing-yan
Department of Music, The University of Hong Kong

Admission

Zoom Lecture

FREE via online registration

Remarks

  • The programme is approximately 1.5 hours.
  • The event link will be activated 3 days prior to the commencement of the event upon successful registration. Please click on “EVENT PORTAL” on your electronic ticket to watch the online lecture.
  • Programmes and artists are subject to change.

Presented by

Supported by

Back To Top