skip to Main Content
【Virtual Lecture I】Introduction To Ink Art Through The Lens Of M+, Hong Kong

【Virtual Lecture I】Introduction to Ink Art through the Lens of M+, Hong Kong

(8:30AM EST | 2:30PM CEST | 8:30PM HKT)

1

(In English 英語主講)

This lecture will introduce modern and contemporary ink art, an area of artistic expression that reinterprets traditional ink painting and calligraphy and encompasses painting, sculpture, installation, and even animation. Using works from the permanent collection of M+, the new visual culture museum in Hong Kong opening in November 2021, the talk will highlight important themes and breakthroughs in the development of ink art since the 1950s and artists from diverse backgrounds who have invigorated the centuries-old heritage.

藝術家如何重新詮釋古典水墨畫和書法,創造出多元面相的水墨藝術?這場講座以十一月即將開幕的M+博物館所收藏的繪畫、雕塑、裝置、甚至動畫等廣義的現當代水墨作品,來介紹上世紀五十年代至今,水墨藝術發展的重要突破和主題,和背景迥異的藝術家為翻新此傳統所作的探索與貢獻。

Speaker:
Dr. Lesley Ma
Curator of M+, Hong Kong

 

Moderator:
Dr. Jindong Cai
Director of the US-China Music Institute, Bard Conservatory of Music

 

Student Composers:
Austin Leung, HKU
Samuel Mutter, Bard
OGA, Bard
Jing Wang, HKU

Admission

FREE via online registration

Remarks

  • There will be a Q&A session at the end of the talk.
  • The programme is approximately 1.5 hours. 
  • The event link will be activated 3 days prior to the commencement of the event upon successful registration. Please click on “EVENT PORTAL” on your electronic ticket to watch the online lecture. 
  • Programmes are subject to change.

Co-presented by

Sponsored by

Back To Top